There were solid pro female performers in 2017 with the undefeated Sunna Davidsdottir racking up two more wins in Invicta, Maiju Suotama‘s two victories after six years away from MMA, and Lina Länsberg getting Nordic’s first UFC win, but it was the active Minna Grusander who secured her third win in the year earning her the 2017 Nordic Female Fighter of the Year.

To start the year the FinnFighters Gym fighter matched up with elite striker Japan’s Syuri Kondo (now 6-0 with win in UFC) in a historic women’s headliner at Pancrase 284 in Tokyo. “Brutsku” went the distance with the popular local, ultimately losing a decision, after breaking her hand in the first round.  It was the first amateur or pro loss for the Finn that won the IMMAF 2015 World Championships in Las Vegas.

“Brutsku” returned to winning ways in May at FNF 14, stopping Tiia Kohtamäki in the third round in her hometown of Turku.

In November, Grusander won in impressive fashion at FNF 15 with a first round rear-naked choke over Elena Belaya in the first round at Karkkila Fight Night card.

Less than one month later, Minna stepped on up short notice to dominant at Ladies Fight Night 8 in Lodz, Poland.  The Finn ended the bout with a second round rear-naked choke over local Hanna Gujwan to give her three straight wins by stoppage and the Female Fighter of the Year award.

Former award winners of Female Fighter of the Year:

• 2016 : Sunna Davidsdottir
• 2015 : Anna Elmose
• 2014 : Katja Kankaanpää
• 2013 : Pannie Kianzad
• 2012 : Katja Kankaanpää
• 2011 : Katja Kankaanpää

Check out a complete listing of all of Nordic awards since 2011.