David Teymur had a perfect 2017.  The Sweden based fighter stunned the MMA community with a huge upset over rising star Lando Vannata at UFC 209 then followed it up with a victory over previously unbeaten Drakkar Klose at UFC 218 to earn the award for 2017 Nordic Fighter of the Year.

A +300 underdog entered the cage against American Lando Vannata in the co-main event of UFC 209. While many saw the bout as an opportunity to push Vannata’s stardom, it was the Allstars Training fighters striking that showed the world who was more technical and viscous. In the end it was a $50,000 Fight of the Night bonus on top of the most impressive victory of his young career.

Teymur Won Both Bouts in 2017

In December, it was Teymur that entered the Octagon again at UFC 218 against previously unbeaten Klose who showed his ability in beating prospect Marc Diakiese in his previous outing. David showed that he wasn’t just a brawler and kept the American at distance, winning the striking from a distance and even showing his improving grappling ability.

The Swede has now won four straight UFC bouts against progressively more challenging opposition. ‘I’m coming for the title’ says Teymur that should have a top 10 opponent as he steps back into action in 2018.

Former Fighter of the Year winners include:
• 2016 : Emil Meek
• 2015 : Makwan Amirkhani
• 2014 : Magnus Cedenblad
• 2013 : Tom Niinimäki
• 2012 : Alexander Gustafsson
• 2011 : Alexander Gustafsson

Check out a complete listing of all of the MMAViking.com Nordic awards since the inaugural awards in 2011.