Jack Hermansson (20-5) lead the Nordic charge in 2019, headlining two cards, submitting David Branch in the submission of the year, earning a 5-round victory over Ronaldo Souza on short notice, and climbing up the ranks to the #6 UFC contender, earning the award of 2019 Nordic Fighter of the Year.

Hermansson’s first fight of the year was in March. The Frontline Academy fighter finished American David Branch (22-6) at the Wells Fargo Arena in Philadelphia. The Swede only needed 49 seconds to end the bout with a guillotine earning him a $50,000 Performance of the Night.  The submission over the Renzo Gracie Jiu-Jitsu black belt, ranked #11 contender, earned him the 2019 Nordic Submission of the Year.

“I really believe I will be fighting for the title in the next year. Somehow I’m gonna make that happen.” – Hermansson

In April, the Oslo based fighter outpointed Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza (26-6) in the main event at UFC Ft. Lauderdale today. The Swede was a late replacement for an ill Yoel Romero, and used a pressure attack to outstrike, and nearly submit the middleweight #4 ranked contender in the 5-round fight.

The official scorecards were 48-47, 48-47, and 48-46 in favor of Hermansson in the biggest win of his career.  “I am a title contender.” exclaimed Jack in the post-fight interview. “I am looking forward to finishing the next one.”

Hermansson was tabbed to headline the UFC’s first trip to Denmark at UFC Denmark in October.  The Swede was explosive early in the main event versus Jared Cannonier (13-4), but a the American defended take-downs and eventually landed a big uppercut that changed the course of the bout leaving the wrestler to end the 2019 campaign with two wins and one loss.

Hermansson wins his Nordic Fighter of the Year for the second year in a row.

Former Fighter of the Year winners include:
• 2018 : Jack Hermansson
• 2017 : David Teymur
• 2016 : Emil Meek
• 2015 : Makwan Amirkhani
• 2014 : Magnus Cedenblad
• 2013 : Tom Niinimäki
• 2012 : Alexander Gustafsson
• 2011 : Alexander Gustafsson

Check out a complete listing of all of the MMAViking.com Nordic awards since the inaugural awards in 2011.